India vs England 2008-09 Kanpur ODI

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs England 2008-09 Cricket Series

India vs England Kanpur ODI

IND v ENG, 3rd ODI, Kanpur: India beat England by 16 runs (IND: 3-0)

India overcame a wobbly start and some anxious moments before beating England by 16 runs via Duckworth-Lewis method in a closely-contested third cricket one-dayer to take a comfortable 3-0 lead in the seven-match series in Kanpur on Thursday.
Chasing 241 for a victory, the hosts were less dominating but were conscious of the Duckworth-Lewis requirement as they scored 198 for five in 40 overs before fading light necessitated an early end to the game. India needed to score 183 for five in 40 overs under the D/L method and were declared the winners when bad light came into play.
For the hosts, Virender Sehwag topscored with 68, while Yuvraj Singh scored a brisk 38 off just 31 balls. Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni remained unbeaten on 29 to steer the team to victory in a more keenly contested tussle at the Green Park stadium.
After the early morning haze delayed the start and reduced the tie to a 49-overs-a-side affair, England captain Kevin Pietersen won the toss and had little hesitation in opting to bat first.
India now need to win the next match in Bangalore on Sunday to clinch the series by taking an unassailable 4-0 lead.
IND v ENG, 3rd ODI, Kanpur: India 198 for 5 (40.0 overs) beat England 240 all out (48.4 overs) by 16 runs (D/L)

IND v ENG, 3rd ODI, Kanpur: England look to spin to turn fortunes at Kanpur

Comprehensively beaten in Rajkot and Indore, England will require more than a spark of inspiration to defeat the buoyant Indian team in the third One-day International of the Hero Honda Cup in Kanpur on Thursday.
Nothing has gone right for the visitors in the first two ODIs of the seven-match series but their biggest headache is how to stop Yuvraj Singh, who it seems has taken a disliking for Kevin Pietersen's side. The flamboyant left-hander stole the show in both the games, cracking two centuries and also taking four wickets in the second match. England will be banking on the positives emerging out of the second ODI in Indore, where they had put an improved performance.
The bowlers started well by putting India on the mat early on, reducing them to 29 for four till their nemesis Yuvraj turned the tables. The England top order, too, gave a decent start but it was surely not a launchpad from where they could chase 292 on an unpredictable wicket. Though captain Kevin Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff at one point threatened to come close to the target with some lusty hitting, but again Yuvraj was the saviour for India as he removed the duo in one over.
With Yuvraj in sensational form with the bat, England fast bowler Stuart Broad admitted that they will have to dismiss the left-hander as early as possible to fancy any chances of victory here. Broad was on the receiving end of six sixes against Yuvraj last year at the Twenty20 World Championship. To turn the tables, England will choose a specialist spin bowler for the first time and if the selection of off-spinner and one-day specialist Graeme Swann does not reverse the fortunes then Monty Panesar, who is in the Test squad, may get a call-up in Bangalore.
England's thoughts turned towards spin, after left-arm seam bowler Ryan Sidebottom, who has been out with an injury, was sent for a scan on his lower back during practice session in Kanpur on Wednesday. India Team (from): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Rudra Pratap Singh, Munaf Patel, Virat Kohli and Murali Vijay.
England Team (from): Kevin Pietersen (Captain), Ian Bell, Matt Prior (wicketkeeper), Owais Shah, Paul Collingwood, Ravi Bopara, Andrew Flintoff, Samit Patel, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Steve Harmison.

IND v ENG, 3rd ODI, Kanpur: India keen to tighten the noose in third one-dayer

England have its tail tucked between legs after the twin mauling in Rajkot and Indore and will have to quickly find a way to stop India's in-form batsmen from launching another assault when they go into the third cricket one-dayer at Kanpur tomorrow.
With pitch curator Shiv Kumar predicting a bowlers' bloodbath tomorrow, England pacers would have their task cut out when they mark their run-up against India's awe-inspiring batting order and a defeat here would leave them with the improbable task of winning the remaining four matches to win the series. It was not merely the margin of defeat but the manner of it that exposed England's lack of resources in all three departments and Pietersen and party are simply clueless how to silence Yuvraj Singh's booming blade.
Eight years in the business and still not a certainty in the Test squad, Yuvraj unleashed his pent-up frustration with some power-hitting and the English bowlers can consider themselves simply unlucky to find themselves in his line of fire. In two matches, Yuvraj proved he could be swashbuckling and sublime as well. His 78-ball 138 in Rajkot was pure aggression but the ton in Indore, on a two-paced track, would rank even higher because of its influence on the outcome of the match.

India vs England 2008-09 Cricket Series

India vs England Kanpur ODI


England won the toss and decided to bat
240 all out (48.4 overs)
198 for 5 (40.0 overs)

England Innings - All out
Bopara st Dhoni b Yuvraj
82 8 0
Bell c Dhoni b Patel
47 8 0
Pietersen c Zaheer b Harbhajan
16 0 1
Collingwood st Dhoni b Harbhajan
11 0 0
Flintoff lbw b Y Pathan
46 2 0
Shah c Zaheer b Harbhajan
42 2 0
Patel c Raina b I Sharma
29 1 1
b I Sharma
13 0 0
Broad c Dhoni b Zaheer
3 0 0
Swann not out
5 0 0
b Patel
3 0 0
5nb 9w 3lb 17
all out 240 (48.4 ovs)

Zaheer 10.0 0 45 1
Patel 6.4 0 36 2
I Sharma 9.0 0 60 2
Yuvraj 10.0 0 54 1
Harbhajan 10.0 2 31 3
Y Pathan 2.0 0 7 1
Sehwag 1.0 0 4 0
Fall of wicket
79 Bell
102 Pietersen
106 Collingwood
133 Bopara
167 Flintoff
203 Shah
231 Patel
231 Prior
235 Broad
240 Anderson

India Innings - Close
Gambhir c Broad b Flintoff
17 3 0
Sehwag c Collingwood b Flintoff
76 8 1
b Broad
8 0 0
R Sharma c Prior b Swann
41 3 0
Yuvraj c Broad b Flintoff
31 2 1
Dhoni not out
51 4 0
Y Pathan not out
16 2 0
3w 5lb 8
for 5 198 (40.0 ovs)

Anderson 6.0 0 47 0
Broad 9.0 2 36 1
Flintoff 9.0 0 31 3
Swann 10.0 0 47 1
Patel 3.0 0 18 0
Pietersen 3.0 0 14 0
Fall of wicket
31 Gambhir
34 Raina
107 R Sharma
125 Sehwag
177 Yuvraj

Umpires: A M Saheba, R B Tiffin
India: Sehwag, Gambhir, Raina, Yuvraj, R Sharma, Dhoni, Y Pathan, Harbhajan, Zaheer, Patel, I Sharma
England: Bell, Prior, Shah, Pietersen, Flintoff, Collingwood, Patel, Bopara, Broad, Swann, Anderson

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.