England India Cricket Match

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Delhi ODI India vs England Cricket Series 2006

March 28, 2006     
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
Toss: England won the toss and decided to field
Umpires: A V Jayaprakash, Asad Rauf
Result: India beat England by 39 runs

India England First ODI

Delhi, March 28, 2006

England tumble to Harbhajan spin Result: India won by 39 runs

India Cricket Live Harbhajan Singh triggered an England collapse to snatch the opening one-day match for India by 39 runs in Delhi.
Chasing 204 to win, the tourists crashed from 117-3 to 164 all out, Harbhajan taking a career-best 5-31 after top-scoring with just 37. Kevin Pietersen (46) and Andrew Flintoff (41) put on 60 in eight overs as England recovered from 4-2 but their cavalier shots sparked the tumble. Earlier, Kabir Ali took 4-45 and made a run out as India were all out cheaply. But England's confidence soon evaporated as Irfan Pathan found some early swing to dismiss Andrew Strauss and Owais Shah in the first over of the reply.

India England ODI Result

Won: India, by 39 runs
England won the toss and decided to field
203 all out (46.4 overs)
164 all out (38.1 overs)

India Innings
G Gambhir c G O Jones b Kabir Ali
27 3 1
V Sehwag c L E Plunkett b J M Anderson
8 1 0
R Dravid
b L E Plunkett
50 7 0
Yuvraj Singh
b Kabir Ali
6 0 0
M Kaif run out
9 0 0
S K Raina c P D Collingwood b I D Blackwell
62 3 0
I K Pathan c L E Plunkett b J M Anderson
43 4 0
M S Dhoni c P D Collingwood b L E Plunkett
28 2 0
Harbhajan Singh c A Flintoff b Kabir Ali
46 3 1
R P Singh not out
3 0 0
S Sreesanth c K P Pietersen b Kabir Ali
1 0 0
3nb 15w 3lb 21
all out 203

J M Anderson 10.0 1 41 2
Kabir Ali 8.4 1 45 4
A Flintoff 8.0 0 31 0
L E Plunkett 8.0 2 42 2
P D Collingwood 2.0 0 17 0
I D Blackwell 10.0 0 24 1
Fall of wicket
17 V Sehwag
56 G Gambhir
58 Yuvraj Singh
68 M Kaif
80 R Dravid
138 S K Raina
146 I K Pathan
201 M S Dhoni
203 Harbhajan Singh
203 S Sreesanth

England Innings
A J Strauss c M S Dhoni b I K Pathan
3 0 0
M J Prior c G Gambhir b Harbhajan Singh
31 4 0
O A Shah lbw b I K Pathan
3 1 0
K P Pietersen c G Gambhir b Yuvraj Singh
49 9 0
A Flintoff lbw b Harbhajan Singh
37 4 2
P D Collingwood c M Kaif b Harbhajan Singh
24 1 0
G O Jones
b Harbhajan Singh
10 0 0
I D Blackwell c G Gambhir b Harbhajan Singh
20 2 0
L E Plunkett c M S Dhoni b I K Pathan
31 2 0
Kabir Ali lbw b Yuvraj Singh
6 0 0
J M Anderson not out
17 2 0
2nb 1w 4lb 7
all out 164

I K Pathan 7.1 1 21 3
S Sreesanth 5.0 0 39 0
R P Singh 4.0 0 32 0
Harbhajan Singh 10.0 2 31 5
Yuvraj Singh 10.0 2 32 2
V Sehwag 2.0 0 5 0
Fall of wicket
0 A J Strauss
4 O A Shah
57 M J Prior
117 K P Pietersen
117 A Flintoff
120 G O Jones
137 I D Blackwell
141 P D Collingwood
142 Kabir Ali
164 L E Plunkett

Indian Team

Indian Cricket Team: V Sehwag, G Gambhir, R Dravid, M Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, S K Raina, M S Dhoni, I K Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth, R P Singh

England Team

England Cricket Team: M J Prior, A J Strauss, O A Shah, K P Pietersen, P D Collingwood, A Flintoff, G O Jones, I D Blackwell, L E Plunkett, Kabir Ali, J M Anderson

The Venue

India Cricket Live

Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Feroz Shah Kotla Cricket Stadium was formerly known as Willingdon Pavilion.The smallest of the four main Test grounds in the country, both in respect to capacity and size, the Feroz Shah Kotla has traditionally been a batsman's paradise due to the nature of the pitches which for the most part have been docile. Perhaps this is best exemplified by the fact that in the 1955 Test, India and New Zealand together scored 1093 runs while only ten wickets were lost. The average of 109.3 runs per wicket is still a world record. The Kotla has almost always produced tons of runs though of late the scenario has changed.
The Kotla staged its first Test in the 1948-49 season when the mighty West Indies under John Goddard took on India for a five Test series and the ground has produced some really good performances. In the 1952 Test against Pakistan, Hemu Adhikari and Ghulam Ahmed were involved in a record tenth wicket stand of 109 runs - a record that still stands. In 1965, S Venkataraghavan, in his debut series, demolished the New Zealand line up with figures of 8 for 72 and 4 for 80. In 1969-70, Bedi and Prasanna combined to spin India to a famous seven wicket win over Australia, the duo picking 18 wickets between themselves. England's John Lever had a memorable debut at the Kotla in 1976, when he notched up a half-century and had match figures of 10 for 70.
England will mostly be playing their one-day internationals in small provincial stadiums, but Delhi's Feroz Shah Kotla is the exception. The latest refurbishment was still going on when Pakistan topped 300 here 12 months ago when winning the final match to take the one-day series 4-2.
A Nick Knight century and five Ashley Giles wickets gave England a two-run win in the exciting 2002 series.
In a 1999 Test against Pakistan, Anil Kumble took 10 wickets in an innings.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.