England India Cricket Match

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Jaipur Practice ODI India vs England Cricket Series 2006

March 25, 2006     
Toss: England won the toss and decided to field
Umpires: S L Shastri, R Subramanian
Result: Rajasthan President's XI 260-6 (50 overs) beat England 255 (50 overs) by five runs

India England Practice ODI

Jaipur, March 25, 2006

Kaif century too much for England

One-day match, Jaipur: Rajasthan President's XI 260-6 (50 overs) beat England 255 (50 overs) by five runs Mohammad Kaif's 119 made the difference as England lost a thrilling one-day series warm-up game against a Rajasthan President's XI by five runs in Jaipur.
Kaif hit two sixes and 11 fours to see the home side to a total of 260-6 after England skipper Vikram Solanki won the toss and opted to field first.
Ian Bell (71) and Matt Prior (55) kept England in with a fighting chance.
But needing six off the final ball for victory, they came up short on 255 when last man James Anderson was run out.
England went into the game with a much-changed team following their tremendous win in the third Test against India with regular skipper Andrew Flintoff at home visiting his family and Andrew Strauss, Geraint Jones and Matthew Hoggard all rested.
Paul Collingwood was due to take the day off but was pressed into service when pace bowler Sajid Mahmood had to leave the field after bowling three overs because of an upset stomach.
Home skipper Ajay Jadeja agreed to Collingwood being used as a full substitute, effectively turning the game into a 12-a-side contest.
During his brief stint in the middle, Mahmood did manage an initial breakthrough by removing Jaidev Shah for 10 and Anderson followed up with the wicket of Gautam Gambhir for five. But Kaif was determined to prove a point after being dropped from India's Test side despite scoring 91 in the opening game at Nagpur and he and Suresh Rainia stabilised the innings with a stand of 72.
Teenager Raina collected 10 fours in reaching 49 off 46 balls to highlight what England will be up against when the serious one-day business gets under way in Delhi on Tuesday. He squandered his chance of a fifty when he hoisted Collingwood to a diving Owais Shah at deep square leg, and the Durham all-rounder then knocked out Venugopal Rao's leg stump via the inside edge for figures of 2-28.
Despite the double setback, Kaif lifted the tempo with the support of Parthiv Patel (25) and reached a deserved hundred as 87 came off the last 10 overs. England were soon in trouble in reply as Solanki departed for a seven-ball duck and Shah managed only two before being caught behind off RP Singh.
Kevin Pietersen made a subdued 28 off 43 balls before becoming the first of four run out victims in the innings and Prior's downfall after hitting 10 fours, caught off Ramesh Powar, left England on 97-4. Collingwood (34 off 37) helped Bell put on 66 and Ian Blackwell contributed a useful 23 to keep them in touching distance of the asking rate.
Both were run out as the pressure increased and the crucial wicket fell in the 47th over when Bell, with spinners operating at both ends, was caught by Kaif off Raina. Liam Plunkett followed for one in the next over, but England were not finished while Kabir Ali remained at the crease.
Requiring 15 to win off the final over, he struck a six off spinner Rao to bring the equation down to six needed off one delivery.
But Rao kept his head to deny Kabir and in the confusion Kaif returned the ball to him to run out non-striker Anderson and end England's innings.

ODI Result

England won the toss and decided to field
260 for 6 (50.0 overs)
255 all out (49.5 overs)

President's XI Innings
G Gambhir c M J Prior b J M Anderson
18 0 0
J N Shah c G J Batty b S I Mahmood
13 2 0
S K Raina c O A Shah b P D Collingwood
46 10 0
M Kaif not out
136 11 2
Y V Rao
b P D Collingwood
23 1 0
A Jadeja c K P Pietersen b I D Blackwell
30 1 0
P A Patel c I R Bell b Kabir Ali
31 1 0
R R Powar not out
6 0 0
2nb 5w 8lb 15
for 6 260

J M Anderson 9.0 0 57 1
S I Mahmood 3.0 0 13 1
Kabir Ali 7.0 1 45 1
L E Plunkett 6.0 1 33 0
P D Collingwood 7.0 0 28 2
I D Blackwell 10.0 0 33 1
G J Batty 6.0 0 30 0
I R Bell 2.0 0 13 0
Fall of wicket
11 J N Shah
28 G Gambhir
100 S K Raina
120 Y V Rao
166 A Jadeja
227 P A Patel

England Innings
V S Solanki c S K Raina b V R Singh
7 0 0
M J Prior c R P Singh b R R Powar
67 10 0
O A Shah c P A Patel b R P Singh
6 0 0
K P Pietersen run out
43 4 0
I R Bell c M Kaif b S K Raina
84 5 2
P D Collingwood run out
37 3 1
I D Blackwell run out
29 3 0
Kabir Ali not out
17 0 2
L E Plunkett c R P Singh b Y V Rao
4 0 0
G J Batty c R P Singh b Piyush Chawla
3 0 0
J M Anderson run out
4 0 0
4nb 5w 1lb 10
all out 255

V R Singh 5.0 0 33 1
R P Singh 7.0 0 48 1
S Gill 6.0 0 30 0
R R Powar 10.0 0 35 1
Piyush Chawla 10.0 2 49 1
Y V Rao 5.5 0 31 1
S K Raina 6.0 0 28 0
Fall of wicket
10 V S Solanki
17 O A Shah
88 K P Pietersen
97 M J Prior
164 P D Collingwood
215 I D Blackwell
229 I R Bell
230 L E Plunkett
244 G J Batty
255 J M Anderson

England Team

England Cricket Team: V S Solanki, M J Prior, O A Shah, K P Pietersen, I R Bell, I D Blackwell, L E Plunkett, G J Batty, Kabir Ali, J M Anderson, S I Mahmood, P D Collingwood (sub)

President's XI Team

President's XI Team Cricket Team: G Gambhir, P A Patel, S K Raina, M Kaif, Y V Rao, A Jadeja, J N Shah, R R Powar, V R Singh, Piyush Chawla, R P Singh, S Gill (sub)

The Venue

India Cricket Live The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur has hosted a solitary Test match, in February 1987, when Pakistan President Gen Zia-ul-Haq hopped across the border to watch the second day's play as part of his "Cricket for Peace" initiative.
Jaipur's ODI debut had kicked off with a contest between the same two sides during the 1983-84 season. Fresh from their World Cup triumph, the Indians comfortably won by four wickets, sporting the same XI that won the World Cup final. The ground has also hosted two World Cup matches in 1987 and 1996 respectively, the West Indians losing to England in the former and beating Australia in the latter.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.